Patient Reviews

Digestive Health Specialists is committed to providing patients with high-quality care for their gastrointestinal needs. By utilizing advanced diagnostic tools and innovative treatment approaches, we are proud to be one of the leading gastroenterology groups in the Kansas City, MO area. We understand that it is essential to find a provider that listens to your needs and concerns. That's why we have collected feedback from past and current patients. Take some time to browse through our reviews to see firsthand the level of care our gastroenterologists offer to all of our patients.

5.0 Review from R.S. Source: Google Apr 14 2024

"Everyone was pleasant and made me feel at ease during procedure."

5.0 Review from K.K. Source: Google Mar 29 2024

"Friendly, personable and professional"

5.0 Review from B.W. Source: Google Mar 06 2024

"Everyone from the front desk, to the nurses , anesthesiologist , & Dr. Shireman were super friendly & professional . My procedure went very smooth , fast & pain free ."

5.0 Review from A.C. Source: Google Feb 10 2024

"Dr. Shireman, and every staff member at the clinic, were knowledgeable and patient. They communicated what would happen each step of the way. I appreciate them!"

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Feb 07 2024

"The doctor is trying to find out the reason I am having so much trouble. I appreciate that."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google Feb 01 2024

"Been going to see Dr. Shireman for over 15 years. Wouldn’t trust anyone else with my GI health!"

5.0 Review from C.C. Source: Google Jan 23 2024

"Everyone on the medical team of Dr Shireman that helped with my colonoscopy procedure was excellent. All were very comforting and professional would definitely recommend them!"

5.0 Review from J.N. Source: Google Jan 20 2024

"Excellent team. Dr. Shireman makes you feel comfortable before and after your procedure. His team has a great system of taking care of you and also helps you feel at ease. Highly recommend Dr. Shireman and his team."

5.0 Review from C.C. Source: Google Jan 06 2024

"I felt comfortable and assured that I was in competent hands throughout my procedure."

5.0 Review from L.K. Source: Google Jan 03 2024

"Dr. Thomas Shureman is the best Dr with my experience. He examined carefully n found out what's going on n he did found out that problems were having 1 1/2 years. He's a great Dr I'm so lucky blessed having him. Lee"

5.0 Review from J.&. Source: Google Dec 28 2023

"I have been a patient with Consultants in G.I. now Alliance G.I. with another G.I. doctor. Change in providers occurred but not because of a negative experience. Dr. Shireman is my G.I. doctor now and I am thankful that he has taken over my medical care. He is prompt, courteous, very knowledgeable and explains results and next steps medically in a way I understand it. All of the office staff is kind, patient and caring too."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Dec 19 2023

"Dr. Shireman is great, sat down and talked to me in my hospital room. All of the drs from this group were very nice. Talked to my liked they cared about me. Can’t say enough good things about them!"

5.0 Review from K.B. Source: Google Dec 07 2023

"Great service and care"

5.0 Review from G.C. Source: Google Dec 07 2023

"Nice work"

5.0 Review from K.L. Source: Google Dec 05 2023

"Wonderful doctor and a great experience at Briarcliff facility. All the staff went above and beyond my expectations."

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Nov 29 2023

"Great staff. Really nice doctor. They addressed my concerns and took good care of me."

5.0 Review from L.E. Source: Google Nov 21 2023

"Dr. Shireman listened to my concerns, discussed causes and possible solutions and recommended testing to get more information. I am an older female with multiple issues, and I appreciate Dr. Shireman's respectful and caring attitude. Too many times I have encountered condescending, disrespectful, and dismissive physicians. Everyone in the practice was kind, helpful, and efficient."

5.0 Review from J.R. Source: Google Nov 21 2023

"Got in and out in 20 minutes. Everyone was very efficient. iPads to sign instead of filling out reams of paper. Fantastic! Nurse and doctor were prompt, Dr. Shireman was attentive and straight to the point. He is great! Got the information and instructions I wanted and got out in a timely manner."

5.0 Review from G.W. Source: Google Nov 08 2023

"Highly recommend Dr. Shireman and his northland team. Clear communication from point of scheduling appointment to post procedure. The day of procedure greeted and checked in by friendly and efficient front desk staff. Everything was explained each step of the way during the procedure. It's obvious Dr. Shireman and his staff really understand the value of delivering great patient care and do so with a refreshing patient centered team approach. Excellent follow up too with a phone call the next day to see how I was doing."

5.0 Review from J.S. Source: Google Nov 08 2023

"I had some concerns. Dr Shireman listened and made me feel like he cared and was able to put me at ease. Hope I have him next time I need the procedure done"

5.0 Review from E.H. Source: Google Nov 08 2023

"Wonderful and caring people"

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google Oct 30 2023

"Professional, multiple safety precautions. personal, and every aspect considered being kept comfortable."

5.0 Review from C.L. Source: Google Oct 27 2023

"Everyone was very nice and professional. Dr Shireman went through my meds and we made a couple of changes. I felt very confident and comfortable with Dr Shireman."

5.0 Review from G.B. Source: Google Oct 18 2023

"Professional in all respects. And support medical staff were all skilled and supportive."

5.0 Review from B.G. Source: Google Oct 13 2023

"My experience couldn't have been better. Everyone was skilled, efficient, and kind. Dr. Shireman is wonderful!"

5.0 Review from L.C. Source: Google Oct 04 2023

"Professional staff. Great communication. I felt informed and comfortable every step of the way. Thank you."

5.0 Review from G.F. Source: Google Sep 27 2023

"Pleasant office staff. Worked me in at last minute for consultation with Dr. Shireman. Dr. Shireman patiently explained up coming procedure."

5.0 Review from B.W. Source: Google Sep 27 2023

"Dr Shireman was great. Was running late and he still took care of all my needs and concerns. Very professional.!"

5.0 Review from P.H. Source: Google Sep 20 2023

"It is always a pleasant experience. The staff is friendly, professional & no stress. Dr Shireman is the only gastrointestinal Dr I want."

5.0 Review from D.A. Source: Google Sep 20 2023

"Dr Shireman is a very good doctor! He really listens and makes you feel comfortable!"

4.0 Review from C.L. Source: Google Sep 20 2023

"Very nice Dr will have to wait and see if it gets worked out I sure hope so"

5.0 Review from L. Source: Google Jun 15 2023

"Very welcoming"

5.0 Review from V.H. Source: Google Jun 15 2023

"I was very nervous about having this procedure done but Dr Shireman and his team made me feel like they were going to take good care of me. They are a really good group of professionals."

5.0 Review from J.L. Source: Google May 25 2023

"Procedure went smoothly. Everyone made me feel of value from admission clerk, nurse, the one who put me to sleep, Dr Shireman and his nurse. Everything was explained. A good experience."

5.0 Review from G. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Wonderful, wonderful doctor! He is so patient, friendly, and caring. Doctors like Dr. Shireman are hard to find!"

5.0 Review from R.M. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"The doctor as well as his entire staff was very professional courteous and made me feel at ease I would really recommend this practice to anybody I meet"

5.0 Review from W.C. Source: Google Apr 04 2023

"Dr. Shireman is a wonderful doctor with a comforting bedside manner. He is personable, funny, thorough and when discussing my case, I could tell he looked at my medical history in detail. He made a scary, uncomfortable procedure better."

5.0 Review from G.K. Source: Google Apr 03 2023

"Wonderful, wonderful doctor! He is so patient, friendly, and caring. Doctors like Dr. Shireman are hard to find!"

5.0 Review from K.G. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"Dr. Shireman and staff were all outstanding!!! From the moment you walked in to when we left! Very thorough! The facility was extremely clean and very patient oriented. You have your own dressing room to change and leave your things. Complete with toilet and sink! All things that are important when having medical procedures. I was dreading my visit but now, I won’t in the future. Again, very impressed with Dr. Shireman. He makes you feel like he truly cares….😁😁❤️"

5.0 Review from H.G. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"Dr. Shireman is a wonderful doctor with a comforting bedside manner. He is personable, funny, thorough and when discussing my case, I could tell he looked at my medical history in detail. He made a scary, uncomfortable procedure better."

5.0 Review from B.W. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"All the nurses and doctor was very nice. I would recommend Dr. Shireman he made me feel really comfortable. Thank you"

4.0 Review from T.G. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"Very direct. Short wait. Great staff."

5.0 Review from D.W. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Amazing & comfortable appointment experience."

5.0 Review from L.A. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Was treated exceptionally well. I would highly recommend this clinic to anyone needing gastric help. Every one there was wonderful. They made me feel at ease and cared for. 5+ stars ⭐️"

5.0 Review from M.D. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Dr. Shireman and his staff were very kind and caring. They were all helpful and put me at ease. Also the following day I received a phone call from one of the nurses to check on me to make sure I was doing okay. Received very good care!"

5.0 Review from R.W. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Dr Shireman is the kindest Dr, love him. He is very caring and interested in his patients."

5.0 Review from G. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Dr. Shireman is so down to earth. Listens to you and gave me confidence that they would help me find the answers to resolve my issues. I highly recommend him and anyone on his team."

5.0 Review from D.V. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Dr. Shireman was frank and blunt and kind. His questions were insightful and to the point"

5.0 Review from E.P. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"My Visit was awesome everyone was nice and kind. Great experience"

5.0 Review from C.D. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"I love Dr Shireman, he is the best doctor I have ever had. Professional and caring. Can't say enough about him."

5.0 Review from B.V. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr Shireman has been my gastroenterologist for many years. He is and has been indispensable in managing my Barrett’s esophagus. He and his staff have always treated me in a professional manner yet they have never failed to be kind and considerate. I am grateful."

5.0 Review from T.M. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Always very professional and accommodating."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Office staff very organized, efficient, professional and friendly. Dr. Shireman very knowledgeable and personable."

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Shireman is extremely detail oriented. He is very professional and gets to the root causal for your visit."

5.0 Review from T.G. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr. Shireman has treated me for UC for several years. His office staff are friendly and do a great job of making you feel comfortable during your visits. Dr. Shireman takes time to listen and never makes me feel rushed. It is clear that patient care is his number one priority. I have and will continue to recommend him to anyone that is looking for a GI doctor."

5.0 Review from W.B. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Th Endoscopy Center felt just like being at a hospital but in much smaller scale. It was not stressful at all. There was someone there to walk me through my procedure every step of the way from the moment I was greeted at the front desk, until my final consultation with Dr. Shireman, I felt well informed and confident that I had been well cared for throughout the process. If you don’t have to go to a big hospital for a colonoscopy, I strongly recommend the Endoscopy Center."

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"The staff at this location is top notch. I could not have asked for better care from start to finish to following up after my procedure."

5.0 Review from D.J. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Every one was Really nice and Professional"

5.0 Review from P.S. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr. Shireman has taken care of my husband for many year he recommended I see Dr Shireman, he was thoughtful he tools notes and talked to me about my issues."

5.0 Review from E.L. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Excellent physician Excellent bedside manner Would highly recommend"

5.0 Review from H.F. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"I have always felt listened to and a participant in my care. A doctor with an excellent bedside manner and a wealth of knowledge."

5.0 Review from S.K. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"I have seen Dr Shireman for several years. I have moved from the KC area but drive three hours back for appointments as I only trust him. He is professional, trustworthy, good at what he does and he cares! I feel respected and cared for. I’d drive three days if I had to."

5.0 Review from S.W. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Extremely professional and friendly. We really appreciated the way he listened to us regarding my husband's problems. I would definitely recommend him to anyone."

5.0 Review from J.E. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Very kind and efficient."

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"First time meeting with a GI specialist and I was nervous. Dr. Shireman put me at ease and made it easy to have a conversation about my future procedure. One of the best experiences I have ever had with someone in the medical field."

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Very professional, friendly, and helpful. Thank you for your great service!"

5.0 Review from N.K. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Doctor is very friendly and patient to answer all my questions."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"When it comes to Gastrointestinal care and treatment the best option in the Metro is Dr.Tom Shireman"

5.0 Review from M.J. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"I would highly recommend made me feel at ease and had a great personality explained everything that was going on"

5.0 Review from M.L. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"The Dr. Is courteous and friendly, and reassured me of my concerns about an upcoming procedure and follow-ups."

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr. Shireman and all the staff were caring and professional. I recommend them!"

5.0 Review from P.K. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr. Shireman is very knowledgeable and took time to go through my results with me. I have 100% confidence in him and his staff. Thank you to all of them for making an unpleasant procedure easier to get through! Paige"

5.0 Review from P.L. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"I've been seeing Dr Shireman for a number of years. He is one of the best GIs I've ever had. He's so knowledgeable, kind and actually cares about his patient, whether overall condition or if I'm experiencing pain or discomfort. I know he will tell me the truth, good or bad, and he'll work hard to help me."

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr. Shireman is truly one of the best. Highly recommend."

5.0 Review from S.H. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr Shireman and his staff were all friendly and helpful for my procedure. Although he couldn't perform the colonoscopy since the prep didn't work properly, he was able schedule a exam the next morning after a second round of prep. It wasn't pleasant doing more prep but glad to have a good exam."

5.0 Review from P.D. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr Shireman is a excellent doctor who truly cares about his patients. He is esteemed not only by his patients but also by all those who work with him. He has given me the best of care for over 23 plus years. Through very difficult surgeries his kind nature made the journey so much easier by knowing the excellence of care I would receive. I am Elizabeth Dungan posting on my husband's phone."

5.0 Review from R.M. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Very informative, friendly and easy to talk to. Knows what he is doing. I would highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from T.F. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Very professional and friendly staff."

5.0 Review from V.K. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr.Shireman is very professional and takes time explaining everything. I would definitely recommend him."

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr. Shireman is friendly and informative and makes you feel very comfortable. Highly recommend him for any upper and lower GI needs."

5.0 Review from C.L. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr. Shireman was thoughtful and courteous throughout my office visit and procedure. The staff and Dr. Shireman were well organized and prompt. Was in good hands."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Very nice bed side manner and very personable."

5.0 Review from D.H. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Very friendly doctor was very informative I would suggest this orthopedic practice to anybody who is having hip knee or shoulder issues!!!"

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr Shireman is a wonderful doctor with huge heart. You're not just a number. He cares. Great bedside manner!"

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr. Shireman and his staff were great. Will never use any else ."

5.0 Review from D.A. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"I appreciate Dr Shireman. He has never made me feel my questions are foolish or unnecessary. He is one of the kindest people I know."

5.0 Review from N.T. Source: Google May 25 2018

"Dr. Shireman is the best! His staff are very friendly and courteous. We were in and out with no problems. Billing was simple and easy. Most importantly, the procedure was comfortable and had zero negative side effects. I recommend him to anyone!"